Road Rage ala Mommy – Pt. 2 The Good

4 Mar

This is the continuation of my long-ass blog.  There’s only a few naughty words in this one. Thanks for sticking with me.

Bitchin’ Moment of the Day:

Before I was subjected to the Parade of (little) Pricks, I was in an awesome mood. I had just saved a ton of money on my car ins…. wait. No, that’s not it. I saved a ton of money on my groceries. I actually got some of it free. Lagniappe! For those of you who aren’t coonasses, that essentially means ‘a little something extra.’

I’m the mommy you hate in your checkout line. I use coupons and lots of them. I take advantage of competitor price matching. I watch the register screen like a hawk to ensure my items ring up at the price they are supposed to. Most times, they don’t but that’s ok. 😉 I have a copy of the ad in my purse. This past year has been the hardest financially on the hubby and I since we got married. So you better believe I’m going to save every freakin’ penny I can. Five dollars can literally break the bank for us so I do what I can to make our money stretch. Don’t knock it until you try it. You’d be amazed how much money you’re wasting.

I am considerate of my fellow shoppers. I group all my price match items together with the corresponding ads. I give my coupons to the cashier at the beginning so she can verify I am purchasing the correct items for each one (I always double-check the brand, size, quantity, etc. before even heading to the checkout.) I try to make it as painless as it can be for everyone involved. I shop at night so all of you that bitch about my “kind” don’t have to suffer through the extra two minutes or less in line. See? I can be a nice bitch. 🙂

But how much did you save, bitch? Ah, the point of this whole thing. At one of our local food stores, I saved $25.00 using coupons on top of special store promotions. At the big, blue box where store promotions are few and far between, I still managed to save $10.00 just with coupons and price matching. That’s a grand total of $35.00 saved for the math-challenged. 🙂 $35.00 will almost put a full tank of gas in my vehicle. It was totally worth the effort of clipping/printing coupons and glancing over the local store ads. I just want to add that I did not buy one single thing that I did not need, just normal groceries and household supplies. I’m not one of those coupon-fanatics that buys 1000 toothbrushes for $0.29 just because they can. If I’m going to fill every nook and cranny in my house, it’s going to be with shoes, not with toiletries I couldn’t possibly use in ten lifetimes. There’s a word for those people: hoarders. I guess we should be thankful it’s 500 sticks of deodorant and not cats.

If you want to save good money on your grocery bill, here’s a few resources:

  • Obviously, your Sunday paper is the best source for the weekly coupons. If you do not get the paper (which I don’t) ask a friend or relative to save the coupons for you.
  • Coupons.comRedplum.com and Couponnetwork.com are sites you can go to weekly to view online coupons. You can choose which ones to print. The Blue Box takes these with no problem. Local stores are hit-and-miss. You will just have to ask if they will accept printed internet coupons.
  • Kelloggs.com and Bettycrocker.com are good sources for brand-specific coupons. You can sign up to receive coupons via email. If you have a favorite brand, you can always go to their websites to see if they offer coupons and sign up.
  • There are tons of “mommy” sites that post coupons, sales, contests, freebies, etc. several times daily. My local site is MyBatonRougeMommy.com. You can go to MyCityMommy.com and click on the ‘Cities’ tab to find the closest one to your area. You can use any of the other city sites if there isn’t one for your area since most of the coupons, etc. mentioned are national brands/franchises.
  • Go through your local store ads, including drugstore chain ads. They always have two or three items from my regular shopping list on sale way below what the Blue Box is going to charge you. Take the ad to the Blue Box and make them match the price. You don’t have to go out of your way or to two different stores and you still save. Stack a coupon on top of the price match and you may get something for free like I did.

If you have any questions, or hell, if you want to add your own tidbits on ways to save dough at the market, please comment below. I’d love to hear and share new sources for deals. I’ve got no problem learning more ways to make the system work for me so I can ensure my kids eat and it helps put gas in my car. Plus, free shit rocks!

Later Bitches!

One Response to “Road Rage ala Mommy – Pt. 2 The Good”

  1. ReJazz March 4, 2011 at 11:10 pm #

    Love it! Love it Bitchin Mommy…

Leave a Reply

